The SLCA Board

Inside the SLCA The SLCA is run mostly by one part time paid Executive Director, Julia Geisler, and its volunteer Board Members.

Serving on the Board is a rather thankless job and not many people see how much work these dedicated members put into the organization to keep the mission alive. Each Board Member is dedicated and passionate about climbing and have specific goals within the SLCA. They are all very busy people who work full time jobs and still manage to get so much done in the climbing advocacy world. Board Members are elected according to the SLCA's needs and applications for the Board are ongoing. A Board term is two years at which point a member can be re-elected.

At last night's Quarterly Board meeting, we welcomed one new Board Member, Oliver McLeod, and gave BIG high fives to an outgoing Board Member who served as Treasurer, Deric Brown. Deric made the inner financial workings of the SLCA much more professional and we can't thank him enough. Jonathan Foster was elected as the new SLCA Treasurer.

Each Board Member not only serves on the Board, but also serves on a committee. There are currently two committees with one more just being formed. The committees are open to anyone to attend, just email for the next meeting date. The committees are: Outreach & Education, Policy & Conservation, and Wasatch Anchor & Bolt Replacement.

Current 2014 Board of Directors

Paul Tusting - Chair

Jason Shumaker - Administrator

Jonathan Foster - Treasurer

Nate Smith - Outreach & Education Committee

Mason Baker - Policy & Conservation Committee

Carly Clifton - Outreach & Education Committee

Oliver McLeod - Wasatch Anchor & Bolt Replacement Committee

Justin Wood - Policy & Conservation Committee

Justin Roth - Outreach & Education Committee

photo 3(1) board meeting

NewsJulia Geisler